Mining Away 2 – A Minecraft Journey

Posted: September 15, 2013 in RPG

The previous entry was a review of the game Minecraft. Now we here at Zambogamer will continue the journey. Starting off from the last scenario…

Image

A creeper, outside my fort along with a skeleton archer that’s hitting me with arrows. This creeper in particular comes near you and explodes, you will hear him getting ready to blow by the fusing sound he makes. I had to do something to last the night.

Image

I started making a dungeon which will have murder holes in place. If you are wondering what those are, then its a medieval trap designed by castles to well murder the invaders. You will get a better look later. As Steve is digging and placing some cobblestone for added protection (dirt is softer) I had another encounter…

Image

Image

A skeleton archer, this might be the one shooting arrows at me earlier, he just dropped in, really shocked me. Luckily  I was able to instinctively place a cobblestone to block his advance. I switch immediately switch to my stone sword,

Image

The skeleton dies easily after 2 hits. He left some bones and arrows, I love the arrows, but don’t know what to do with the bones yet, I still save them though.Image

I retreated back to the keep to see the sun rising ala Lord of the Rings style. It was day 3 of my survival now. I decided to get more resources such as wood and stone and food to heal the hearts (life). In the day all the undead burn in the sunlight with the exception of the exploding creepers.

Image

Image

Seems like hamburger is on the menu hahaha, The sheep on the right gave me an idea to make a bed so I can skip the dangers at night. I don’t have shears yet so my sword will have to do the shaving.

Image

He might be colder, but I will sleep warmer at night. hehehe

I still have to look for food. There were pigs yesterday near the vicinity if you read the last blog post. But they have disappeared. hmmm… wait found one and got some raw porkchops (image not shown due to cubic violence XD) 

Image

 

This is a typical murderhole, I had some difficulty planning it in the mind, but basically the creepers will step on it, thinking they can scale the walls, and that is when I start hacking of their legs. You can try it also, its simple to build, just make sure you are well protected with cobblestone.

Image

I went to look for more seeds to plant and harvest some bread later. Steve plans to build his farm underground… is that even possible without sunlight? In minecraft yes it can, But for now I must retreat to the safety of the fort.

ImageImageImageImage

In the furnace I started making windows from sand and charcoal and my dinner which is fried pork chops, you could eat it raw but it doesn’t heal as much or is as tastier when fried.

On the second image I made two doors for two corridors in the fort. having a door makes me feel safe. And finally a bed, from wool and wooden planks, beds will help you skip the night better if you want to avoid confronting zombies, just make sure you are well protected.

Image

It’s time to sleep, I hope I won’t wake up with a zombie staring down at me, the door is locked, and the windows get me a good view. Better hide my sword under the pillow.

Image

 

The next day I was ambushed by a creeper, exploded in my back, good thing Steve did not die, I better make some repairs. What I told you about cobblestone durability is true, most blown off are dirt.

I spent the rest of the day mining for more cobblestone back in the old cave which was featured in the last entry. I wanted to build the tower this day to at least give me a height advantage.

Image

In the tower area, I crafted a chest, which I put all the misc or other items to use for later. If you combine two areas in one spot you can store more items.

Image

 

Image

All this time I had no roof in the fort house, so instead of adding more stone, I just placed wooden planks. I don’t want to get wet when it rains.

ImageImage

I built my tower up to the second floor when night came, it gave me a heightened view but everything was so dark…I might have to lay out torches on the field tomorrow for better vision. I spent some minutes patrolling the wall and sometimes checking with the murder hole trap below but nothing…hmm I wonder what they are planning…I’m getting impatient, so Steve decided to go to sleep because of the tiring day.

Image

 

Good night everyone, keep safe out there. For all those in Zamboanga City, Pray and know that the crisis will end soon. As for Zambogamer we are still making more reviews.

 

Leave a Reply

